First Site Visit

This was my first ever visit to the Brooklyn Historical Society, and what really caught my attention was the library and how beautiful and historic it looked. I really found it interesting, to take a look at the documents from Brooklyn’s past. Based upon what was presented to me at the museum, I know now that Historians collect old and ancient artifacts, and try to open up these artifacts to anyone who may need to use this information. By taking a look at our document, it was the first time I ever heard about the Brooklyn Core. From previous history classes back in high school, I only thought that discrimination was only going on in the South at the time, however according to the document discrimination was going on in the entire country. The questions that arose from this document were why was the Brooklyn Core so concerned about the African American woman who was denied the apartment. I would really like to find out more about these stories, and try to find out if there were multiple cases, involving people being denied things because of their race.

Leave a Reply

